SLP update discussion

S.L.P. image questions, stereoscopic video livestream and recording, stereoscopic photo capture etc.
Post Reply
User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

SLP update discussion

Post by Realizator »

We're planning to do S.L.P. Raspbian image update.
Known bugs (v0.2.3):
- FIle manager in Admin panel is using some external JS scripts. When StereoPi admin panel is accessed within a network without Internet, admin page design is broken. We are plan to copy all JS onboard.
- Expand root partition from 2Gb to 4 Gb (so users can install other software). Fix FAT32 auto format according to new 4 Gb size.
- Add "FS readonly" flag to the stereopi.conf
- If one of the cameras is disconnected (bad ribbon connection etc.), sometimes system became inaccessible over network.
- Current video stream splitting (for simultaneous stream to browser, RTMP, recording etc) logic is based on internal UDP data flow. This will be changed to shared memory approach to remove performance bottleneck at high resolutions.
- wifi_iface = wlan0 and 3D in the "stereopi.conf" will be set as defaults

If you've found other bugs - please post them here, and we'll add all of them in our to-do list. We will be pleased if you can describe all steps needed to repeat a bug.

Wishlist (collected from suggestions in this thread):
- Video recording button, current video recording status indicator
- Add "basic presets" for the video (resolution/bitrate/FPS), keep advanced settings
- Move "settings" JS tab to the separate page
- Add "physical button to take photos" onboard, with optimized performance (and, possibly, PHP-independent)
- Shutter speed option (for long-exposure captures)
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by Realizator »

Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

stereomaton
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:33 pm
Location: France

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by stereomaton »

I would add that it would be nice to have a button to record a video more easily, like the photo button does.
It would be even better if this button show the current recording state.
Stereophotographer and hacker
Despite my quite active participation in the forum, I am not in the StereoPi team
StereoPi Standard Edition + CM3Lite module + a few cameras

stereomaton
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:33 pm
Location: France

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by stereomaton »

Today, I thought that perhaps you could also add the "classical" 24/25/50 fps video framerates in the selection menu.
Stereophotographer and hacker
Despite my quite active participation in the forum, I am not in the StereoPi team
StereoPi Standard Edition + CM3Lite module + a few cameras

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by Realizator »

stereomaton wrote:
Sun Mar 29, 2020 10:45 pm
Today, I thought that perhaps you could also add the "classical" 24/25/50 fps video framerates in the selection menu.
Ok. But what if the user will decide to set FullHD at 50 fps? I think we need to do either "simple presets" (locking resolution+FPS), or "advanced settings" with some checking logic (like prohibiting 50 FPS for FullHD). Our experience shows, that at the beginning users try to set the maximum available settings for all options, and these settings exceeds hardware abilities.
So we have a choice here: either do our interface user-friendly, or give a flexibility and full control on all options.
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

stereomaton
Posts: 181
Joined: Tue May 21, 2019 12:33 pm
Location: France

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by stereomaton »

You already have the possibility to set [email protected]
To reduce the risk of bad parameters, proposing presets might be a good idea, but I wish the advanced options would still be accessible some way.

Also, maybe it would be better to have the whole configuration in a separated page in multiple columns — I find it a bit hard to use in practice, especially on mobile device on the field — which in addition will give a good feedback on whether or not you clicked on the save button by returning to the main page.
Stereophotographer and hacker
Despite my quite active participation in the forum, I am not in the StereoPi team
StereoPi Standard Edition + CM3Lite module + a few cameras

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by Realizator »

Review the "broken video" issue and test the solution from the Stereomii, mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=965
Test, if this issue still exist in a new shared-memory based recording approach.
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

User avatar
stereomii
Posts: 37
Joined: Mon May 13, 2019 3:11 pm
Location: Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by stereomii »

Realizator wrote:
Wed Jun 10, 2020 4:28 pm
Review the "broken video" issue and test the solution from the Stereomii, mentioned here: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=965
Test, if this issue still exist in a new shared-memory based recording approach.
Recently found that my solution still gives occasionally damaged recs, especially with plus 10 minutes recordings.
Jan a.k.a. stereomii
StereoPi with Waveshare 160deg cams

User avatar
julsboo
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:49 am
Location: Paris, FR
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by julsboo »

Hi
I just created a post to explain my project here viewtopic.php?f=16&t=1001
In SLP I didn't see the possibility to adjust the shutter speed, would it be possible to integrate this parameter?
it's not uncommon for my exposure time to exceed one minute (or more).
For long exposure times it is then helpful to have a display of the time remaining during the capture.

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 594
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by Realizator »

Julsboo, I've added your request to the main wishlist. Good suggestion, thank you!
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

User avatar
julsboo
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2020 8:49 am
Location: Paris, FR
Contact:

Re: SLP update discussion

Post by julsboo »

I'm trying to set HQ Camera resolution.
Could you add HQ camera in photo resolution parameter?

I modified files index.php and make_photo.php to adapt it to the HQ camera's resolution.
I chose a resolution of -w 6587 -h 3040 to match my smartphone screen.
Each image is vertically cropped for the final stitching? is this the method used?

Thanks

Post Reply