Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

SLP v2 RaspiOS image discussion
Post Reply
sodyiumcl
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 31, 2022 11:36 am

Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by sodyiumcl »

Hello,

I bought a StereoPi v2 Camera Kit from Crowdsupply and have set it up. If I plug it into my local network with an Ethernet cable, I can successfully access the SLP2 interface and take pictures. I am also successful in using the StereoPi as a wireless access point.

However, I followed the instructions here to disable the access point and connect to my existing wifi network and failed. The StereoPi does not show up as connected when I check my wifi router, and if I access SLP2 via an Ethernet cable connection and click on the scan for wireless networks button in device settings, I get this error:

Code: Select all

SyntaxError: JSON.parse: bad escaped character at line 1 column 61 of the JSON data
What does this mean, and how do I troubleshoot my StereoPi 2's inability to connect to wifi? Thank you.

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by Realizator »

Hello sodyiumcl,

Could you please share your cosmostreamer.conf file with me? You can send it by email to [mynickname]@gmail.com. Loosk like you have a typo or a special character in your wifi router name/password.

p.s. please do not share this file on the forum with all your WiFi AP credentials :)
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

sodyiumcl
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 31, 2022 11:36 am

Re: Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by sodyiumcl »

Realizator wrote:
Tue May 31, 2022 12:52 pm
...Loosk like you have a typo or a special character in your wifi router name/password.
Yes, there are several special characters in my wifi network password. Would that be the problem? Is there a way to work around that, or would I need to change the password?

If you still need me to send you cosmostreamer.conf, just let me know. :)

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by Realizator »

the simplest way to check is to update your router password (remove special symbols). If it works after that - this was an issue. :-)

Could you please share these special characters here on the forum? I'm curious. Maybe we can try to isolate them somwhow.
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

sodyiumcl
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue May 31, 2022 11:36 am

Re: Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by sodyiumcl »

Realizator wrote:
Tue May 31, 2022 4:58 pm
the simplest way to check is to update your router password (remove special symbols). If it works after that - this was an issue. :-)
Silly me, I should have thought of that! :P I created a temporary guest network with my wifi router with a password that has no special characters. The StereoPi 2 connected successfully, and when I click on "Scan networks" it shows all the detected networks without an error message! So I guess the special characters are the problem...
Realizator wrote:
Tue May 31, 2022 4:58 pm
Could you please share these special characters here on the forum? I'm curious. Maybe we can try to isolate them somwhow.
Here are some: ?.*[/:=

So where does this leave us? Do I have to change my wifi password to accommodate the StereoPi? Is there a configuration of software tweak I can make to get special characters to work within passwords?

User avatar
Realizator
Site Admin
Posts: 850
Joined: Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:23 am
Contact:

Re: Can't connect to wifi network from SLP2 with error message

Post by Realizator »

huh, interesting case.
Technically we are copying wifi name and password to wpa_supplicant, and it should work. The "SyntaxError: JSON.parse: bad escaped character at line 1 column 61 of the JSON data" message caused by pushing the password to admin panel (since '/' sign breaks some stuff).

Could you please send me your wifi name and password (wow, sounds scary...) to my email. I'll try to reproduce this error on my side and see what's causing the issue.
Eugene a.k.a. Realizator

Post Reply