New to Raspberry Pi

S.L.P. image questions, stereoscopic video livestream and recording, stereoscopic photo capture etc.
mango

New to Raspberry Pi

Post by mango »

Hi, I am new to Raspberry Pi, so this is a very basic question.

I was able to set up set up the StereoPi hardware and access the device via stereo.local using a wifi module (https://wiki.stereopi.com/index.php?title=The_Basics). My next project is to (1) stitch photos together and (2) create a hardware button for this system that will allow me to take photos and video.

What do I need to do to use the StereoPi as a computer instead of an image capture system with a web interface? I would like to code on this device, but I'm having a tough time making the leap from "I can access the device via my browser" to "I can code on this device and access the media folder". What do I need to do to write my first "hello world" program in Python on the StereoPi? Do I need a different Raspberry Pi OS image? Do I need to set the device up as a USB device? something else?

Thank you!

Realizator
Site Admin

Re: New to Raspberry Pi

Post by Realizator »

Hi Mango,
Short answers:
1. You can use a desktop-like environment. Use stock RaspiOS, and just add dt-blob.bin (as described in Wiki) to enable 2 cameras. In this case, you can work like with the desktop computer.
2. Take a look at this post about the physical button to take photos

You also say "stitch photos together". Usually, you get already stitched photos. Maybe I didn't get your idea, please clarify.

Raspberry Pi is an embedded system, so it is better to save CPU/RAM resources if possible. That's why a lot of specific OS exists, focused on remote access. For example our SLP or MotionEye. We also have another image, OpenCV. It is intended right for the case you are describing: desktop environment, monitor, keyboard, and mouse.
As a small tip, I'd recommend you to have a few micro SD with different OS images. It really helps with the troubleshooting.